one girl’s perspective on life, neopaganism, veganism, politics, books, films, and… stuff.

It was just… fantastic, and inspiring. Beautiful place, beautiful food, and, most of all, the most fantastic, intelligent, amazing and beautiful people. If any of the organisers happen upon this – thank you so much (and I’m sure this is speaking on behalf of all) for imagining, organising and holding such a brilliant event.

I finally got to meet other NeoPagans! And I was pretty damn impressed; everyone was so warm and welcoming, and the positive energy throughout the weekend was palpable. The Beltaine ritual itself was inspiring (and inspired), with energy raising via the spiral dance, and even a touch of comedy with the courtship of the Goddess. The maypole may not have been perfect, but it was beautiful nonetheless (and I’m so glad I danced it, it was an amazingly exhilarating experience).

The workshops also had a good balance between the Beltaine favourite (sex magick and associated crafts) and the more creative aspect of inspiration and abundance. I made a clay Goddess figure for my altar, I’ll post a picture of her later when I get time. Speaking of which, there were loads of people taking photographs, so I’m hoping plenty of those will surface on the Internet.

All in all, it was one of the most amazing things that I have ever experienced in my life, and I’m so completely glad that I went; and I’m grateful for the wonderful people that I met. It was refreshing to be able to just be with other people on the same wavelength (and they were a spiritual bunch indeed), in the quiet calm of the bush, weaving magick that will last us for the rest of the year.

I’ll definitely be attending any of their events in future (and I will be distinctly unhappy if university tries to thwart me in this), and so should all of you!

Comments on: "Beltaine ’08 – Real Magick!" (2)

  1. What a fabulous review – thank you!!! 😀

    I really enjoyed meeting you and as I said over the weekend in between the quick hugs that you offered me (at times when I needed them!) that I’d really like to get a chance to talk to you some more in the near future.

    I hope you have a brilliant week and lets catch up again soon!

  2. Oh and Happy Birthday for today!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

