one girl’s perspective on life, neopaganism, veganism, politics, books, films, and… stuff.

So, I tried again to make these muffins, though this time I used banana as the binding agent, and agave nectar instead of sugar.

They’re absolutely delicious. They are also extremely dense, and collapsed after removing from the oven, rendering them like little friand-ish cakes.

I did a bit of investigating. Turns out it’s not me: gluten-free flour almost always sinks after baking. So I need to try making the dough less moist, or need to start experimenting with xantham gum. Or I just need to accept that if I want muffins, I’m going to have to make muffins that will later cause large amounts of pain. 😛

Also, I halved a recipe for 12 muffins, and somehow still ended up with 10. Anyone want to come eat some delicious friand/cake/pseudo-muffin/delicious baked things?

Comments on: "Gluten-free muffins, redux" (2)

  1. Send one my way!

    I like that you added in some banana and agave, I am going to try your recipe with these additions.

    And I find my gluten free cupcakes are quite small except for a recipe I have that includes xanthum gum, they were huge!

  2. Hmmm, maybe I should try some xantham gum, poor little flat muffins lol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

