one girl’s perspective on life, neopaganism, veganism, politics, books, films, and… stuff.

Ingredients:

  • 185g (3/4 cup) margarine (I use Nuttelex)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 medium overripe banana, mashed
  • 1 & 1/2 cups self-raising flour, sifted (gluten-free works fine)
  • 1 cup chopped dark chocolate

Method:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, beat margarine, vanilla essence and sugars in a bowl until combined.
  2. Add banana and mix until thoroughly combined.
  3. Add sifted flour and chocolate chips, stir thoroughly.
  4. Cover bowl and refrigerate dough for 1 hour, or until firm. Preheat oven to 180 celsius.
  5. Place heaped teaspoons of mixture on lightly greased baking tray, and flatten slightly (the dough will be very sticky, so wet your hands to flatten dough balls).
  6. Bake at 180 celsius for 15 minutes, or until lightly browned.
  7. Allow to stand for 5 minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool.

Notes: this is an original adaptation of my mother’s recipe for plain choc-chip cookies, so all credit to me, thank you! This recipe is for very soft cookies – if you prefer crispier cookies, flatten the balls of dough until thin, and bake slightly longer (but be careful not to burn them!). Also, these cookies taste a lot better cool than warm, unlike most. Enjoy!

Comments on: "Recipe: Vegan Banana Choc-chip Cookies" (9)

  1. Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for a few months now, but have only this year decided to make the step from vegetarian to vegan. This recipe looks delicious and will make the perfect snack for a meeting I have to attend later this week 🙂 Thanks for sharing

  2. Congrats on making the step to vegan! I fed these to all of my omni friends, and they loved them. 🙂 Let me know how you get on!

  3. Wow! These were the nicest cookies I’ve ever made. In our household (I live with my family of seven, myself included) our fave cookie recipe has always been “that:” choc-chip recipe out of, you know, “that cookbook” (not sure which one, but it’s in the cupboard somewhere) I’m now pretty sure this one has beaten it. Not one person I fed them too didn’t enjoy them! In fact, they went over so well on Saturday, I baked a double batch for Sunday 🙂

    What chocolate did you use? My mum like cooking with the 85% cocoa Whittaker’s, but I find it too bitter. I used Black and Gold dark cooking chocolate, dairy free to my surprise. As are oreos 😉

    Thanks for the great recipe

  4. […] makes 24 cookies (even if you “test” some of the dough!) and the recipe I borrowed from here. Ingredients: 185g (3/4 cup) margarine (to make them vegan use nuttlex, otherwise normal margarine […]

  5. Glad they went over so well! Last time I made them, I used 85% ‘Green and Blacks’ cooking chocolate, which I personally found to be too bitter. The first time I made them, I used ‘Tropical Source’ brand semi-sweet chocolate chips, which are FABULOUS, though I’m not sure if they’re still available.

    ETA: yes, they are available, from The Cruelty Free Shop, which is run by a lovely lady who is wonderful to deal with.

  6. […] tier L-R: dry-roasted corn, cherries, home-made banana choc-chip cookies, dried kiwi fruit, dried strawberries, and raw hazelnuts and cashews (green […]

  7. Hi!
    Sorry to be commenting on such an old post, but I can’t find any other way to contact you. I’m currently creating a hand-painted, hand-written vegan recipe e-book and I’d love to include your recipe, as I think it’s the best vegan choc-chip recipe I’ve ever made. I would fully credit the recipe to you, and provide your details and web address on the recipe. If you don’t want me to use your recipe in the book, that’s totally okay, but either way could you please let me know as soon as you can? You can email me (zoe@veryzoe.com) or comment back, I’m subscribed to the comments of this post now too.
    Thanks in advance,
    Zoe

  8. Of course you can! I’m honoured that you liked the recipe that much, lol. Let me know when you’re finished, I’d like to check out your book myself. 🙂

  9. Thank-you so much for letting me use this recipe in my e-book! I’ve finally finished it, and you can find 3 free pages on my blog (http://veryzoe.com/blog) and the book itself is now available in my store (http://veryzoe.com/store)

    Hope to hear more from you on this blog soon, I really enjoy reading it 🙂

    All the best,
    Zoe

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

